Circa 2010, as part of the formation of a new radio sailing club at the Surf & Ski Park at Bli Bli in Queensland, it was decided that the club required a significant trophy event that would put it on the radio sailing map. The event originated as the brainchild of Peter 'Straw' Morris & Jonno Wilson and it was decided that the event should have the name of an outstanding contributor to the sport of radio sailing in Queensland.

After much discussion it was settled on naming the event in honour of Eddie Cowell who, given his outstanding contribution to the sport, warranted recognition. Eddie was approached with the proposition which he graciously accepted.

A perpetual trophy was purchased and with this the Eddie Cowell Perpetual Trophy Regatta was formed.

Unfortunately after just two years the club lost its venue. The trophy needed a new home and with that the Kawana club was approached to take over the trophy event on the strict proviso that it would permanently remain within the control of Club Kawana.

With entries from Singapore, Malaysia, New Zealand & Australia in 2017, we are expecting a larger fleet than ever in 2018.

We look forward to seeing you there!